Ran across this blog post on The Simple Dollar today on You Can’t Buy What you Want to Be.

There was a particular line in the blog that really stood out to me.

Buying…is not a substitute for doing.

The post goes on to say that just because you want to do certain things, doesn’t mean that you need to go out and buy everything to do it.

I’m going to focus on exercise and biking as that’s what is important to me right now.

Currently, I’ve begun training for a metric century (100km or ~62 miles) in July.  I have a training plan outlined on a calendar system that should provide me with what I need to be able to complete my goal.

However, I could just as easily do some research and look at different components and gear and buy those items that will give me a feeling of accomplishment and mentally I’ll feel like I’m making progress.

It’s a fake feeling. Yeah, mentally I’ll feel like I’m making strides to better myself. “Look at all these fancy new things that will make me go fast,” I’ll think. Yet, at the end of the day I’m the one that has to pedal up the hills and keep going for 4 hours in the heat of July.

Buying things is not a substitute for doing something.

If it’s important to you, then you will find a way to make it happen.

I want to climb up hills and ride great distances.

The only way to accomplish that goal is to get out there and ride.

