So, I’m three and a half weeks into the six week challenge.

Amazing how having just a couple of friends come along this journey with me has motivated me to continue to progress following the ketogenic diet and hitting up the gym. I feel that if I don’t follow through with these that I’m failing my friends.

I’ve maintained my weight from the week prior, and this is to be expected for a few reasons.  The first is that my body is holding onto water where I was once holding onto fat cells.  My body should flush this water in the next few weeks and I should see another drop in weight.

Secondly, by going to the gym I’m more than likely replacing fat with  muscle. And muscle looks better than fat.

I did have a few failures at the gym this week. Two sets of the overhead press, which is probably my weakest routine. The other was one set of barbell rows, which, I would have to guess, is my second weakest routine.

Failure is to be expected and I’ll pick back up the next time I do those routines.

My diet has remained unchanged the past couple of weeks or so. Still doing strict keto and only going over 25g of net carbs once or twice with the max being around 30-32g of net carbs. Overall, I feel great. I don’t require taking a magnesium supplement at night to help me sleep and I don’t get cramps in my legs at night like I did the first week.

Overall, I feel great and I’m not noticing any negative side-effects.  I have to register for a biometric screening for my health insurance, so I’m interested to see what my results say this year compared to last year.

On to the big news…Sarah got a new job!

She’ll be doing paralegal work for an insurance defense firm not far from where my office is and just about 1/2 to 3/4 of a mile down from where she currently works.

I’m so very happy for her to be getting out of the service industry and starting her professional career in something that she seems to care about.

But, with a new job comes new clothes.  I promised her that we would go clothes shopping and that I would pay to get her some new work outfits as everything she had been wearing to work wouldn’t be appropriate for an office setting.

Thanks to my Nintendo Switch the shopping trip last night was very bearable!

20180207_195406.jpg

Finally, now that I feel that I’m in a routine when it comes to hitting up the gym since I’ve been consistently going for 3+ weeks I’ve decided it’s a good time to bring in a cycling routine.

I’ve long wanted to ride a Metric Century (100km / 62mi) which is almost as long as the Silver Comet Trail is from the start of the trail to the Alabama state line.

Ultimately, I’d love to be able to do back to back Metric Century rides so that I could ride out to Alabama on a Saturday and then back home on a Sunday.

Metric Century Training Program

I’ll be following the training program above beginning next week.  I’ll be riding on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday.

If I begin on 13 February 2018 I should be able to ride 100km by 7 April 2018.

It will be hard.  It’s supposed to be hard. If it were easy, everyone would do it.